IMG_0706.JPG
0Y5W5210_mini.jpg
0Y5W5243.jpg
0Y5W5190_mini.jpg
0Y5W5180_mini (1).jpg
0Y5W5138_mini.jpg
0Y5W4898_mini.jpg
0Y5W5077_mini.jpg
0Y5W5336_mini.jpg
IMG_0706.JPG

Foundation Lorenzo Padilla


SCROLL DOWN

Foundation Lorenzo Padilla


CLICK HERE TO MAKE A DONATION

"The Man Who Makes Art Does Not Make War"

I was born in 1931 in Matanzas, Cuba, into a humble and loving family. When I was small I wanted to follow in my father's footsteps and become a musician. I was passionate about drawing, however, and amused myself illustrating the schoolbooks of my cousins. 

My Uncle Carlos kept all my drawings, and when I was 10, Uncle Carlos showed my work to a certain Professor Alberto Tarasco, who loved what he saw and suggested that I receive lessons at his Academy. I was invited there on a one-year fellowship. But I ended up remaining at the Academy for over five years, until I was 16.

My teacher wanted me to go on to the Academy of Beaux Arts, but my parents preferred instead that I become a lawyer, rather than devoting myself to painting. 

After long and heated discussions with them, and my unstinting insistence that my path lay in art not in law, they finally allowed me to return to study Fine Arts as long as I graduated. I did – receiving a degree in painting. 

I can not thank my Uncle Carlos enough for working so hard to help me strengthen my vocation. I was already an eager draftsmen, but thanks to his encouragement, I drew all the time, and was inspired by great contemporary painters such as Wifredo Lam, Ponce de Leon, Carlos Enriquez ...

I had the opportunity later to meet Wilfredo Lam himself in Paris, as well as the famous archaeologist an poet Robert Ganzo, who was one of his great friends. 

At the time we were living in Montparnasse, and dined at the Dome, the celebrated spot, where we also had a chance to meet Von Dongen, Sadkin, Foujita and his wife Fernande Barrey. 

Why an Art Museum in Matanzas?

When I was a student, in order to see original works of art by notable contemporary artists, I needed to travel to Havana, since there was no museum in Matanzas. 

I decided that one day if I had the means that I would found a museum in my hometown. And that day has finally arrived. I was able to create an art museum in Matanzas, and to help its collection with the gift of my own art, donations from my personal collections – including 800 original prints, including several by Rembrandt, and gifts that have been made to me by my painter friends throughout my life. Furthermore, being true to my Afro-Cuban origins, I also supplied the museum with original works of African art.  

Matanzas is my hometown, a beautiful, blue and sparkling city on the sea. Matanzas Bay is as big as the bay of Santiago de Cuba. It's a place of art and above all, of music: Some great Cuban rhythms were born in Matanzas: the Danzon, the Guaguanco, and also the Mambo. 

My hope for the Matanzas Art Museum is that it become recognized internationally for its collection of work by known, unknown, forgotten and yet-to-be discovered masters. 

Why a Foundation?

Although as a still-working artist it's likely that I will die with a brush in hand, at the same time my dearest wish is to help poor and struggling artists to develop their art. I myself needed financial encouragement as a young man – and as I grew successful I vowed to help struggling artists, mainly those in Cuba and France.

The world needs art. The man who makes art is not interested in waging war. I am a painter of the beauty of the world. I want that war cease. I want to love, not to hold grudges. Painting is necessary for the future of art. Art allows us to breathe, and it brings people together. As I have had chances, I wish to give a chance to others. 

After the Cuban Revolution, I had a scholarship thanks to that revolution. I was a revolutionary from the first, and will always be a revolutionary, with my brush. I want to battle for my country with art as a weapon of choice. 

I also want Cuba to become an artistic reference in terms of painting. I want to make art accessible to all Cubans. So that exhibitions of art can travel to the remotest corners of the country and, indeed, the world and put forward the musical culture of Matanzas, La Rumba, The Mambo, The Danzon, The Guaguanco, etc. Art is for everyone. 

Cuban art is for everyone. 

My grandson, David Padilla and his wife, Mary, have helped me in this quest. They are very committed to seeing this foundation grow as well as my brother Pedro Padilla. I want to dedicate this foundation to them, as well as to Gracia, my late wife, and my lasting inspiration: I miss her so much, but she is always in my heart.

Who Have Been My Greatest Inspirations?

The biggest for me has always been Diego Velazquez. He is, in fact, a precursor to Impressionism, and was a key to the freedom of expression on canvas. But I have also been inspired by Goya, El Greco, Turner, Monet. My dream has to be associated somehow with these great artists. I say this without pretension. I am a person who draws his strength by imitating the art of others  -- I am inspired by them. I hope one day people will speak of me as a great painter, certainly, but above all as a great benefactor. 

Lorenzo Padilla

0Y5W5210_mini.jpg

News


SCROLL DOWN

News


0Y5W5243.jpg

Mission & Goals


SCROLL DOWN

Mission & Goals


Mission & GoalS

The Lorenzo Padilla Foundation aims to help artists Cuban painters and participate in safeguarding the pictorial heritage of Cuba. Thanks to funds already raised, the foundation will be organizing exhibitions around the world, mainly in the most remote places on earth, to bring art to everyone. 

The Foundation will also create a scholarship to enable talented young painters to have access to major international schools of art, culture so that they themselves might begin to achieve recognition for their art. So far, funds are being used to buy materials (paint, canvas, and other supplies) to help artists and the poorest art schools to professionalize their art.

0Y5W5190_mini.jpg

Board Of Directors and Colleges


SCROLL DOWN

Board Of Directors and Colleges


BOARD OF DIRECTORS

COFOUNDER and CEO Mrs Marie Padilla y Diaz

COFOUNDER Mr David Padilla y Diaz

COFOUNDER Mr Lorenzo Padilla

 

BOARD OF PATRONAGE

HONOR PRESIDENT Mrs Domitilla Weiller

 

ADVISORY BOARD

Members of Advisory Board

Representative of FDD Lorenzo Padilla in Cuba 

Mr Pedro Padilla y Diaz

 

HONORARY PRESIDENT

Mr Jean-Pierre Bel
Personal Envoy of the President of the French Republic for Latin America and the Caribbean,
and former President of the French Senate

 

HONORARY BOARD

Honorary Members

Mrs Barbara Hendricks

Mrs Mirna Murillo Gamarra

Mr Walter Scandale
Doctor of Physics and former member of the Superior CERN staff

Mr Erik Gonthier
Doctor et Maître de Conférence of MNHN Prehistoric Department Paris

Mrs Fabienne Stimamiglio

Mrs Lola Jouyaux

Mr Heinrich Defarge

Mr Eric Renesson

 

0Y5W5180_mini (1).jpg

CURRENT ACTIVITIES


SCROLL DOWN

CURRENT ACTIVITIES


CURRENT ACTIVITIES

In November, 2016, The Lorenzo Padilla foundation ' is returned to Matanzas, Cuba, to donate more than year of material (paints, paintings and quite different supplies) to the School of Fine Arts of the city to help the pupils and the artists to become there to study in the conditions most world Grandes Écoles. The operation was successful.


During this visit, the foundation also estimated the needs for the Museum of Arts of Matanzas in terms of restoration, preservation of heritages and creation of a future big museum of arts of Matanzas: 
Collections of the donations previous one will always be endowed (African Arts, Lorenzo's Works padilla, paints and engravings of international artists). 

In the museum a dedicated space will be create to the memory of the musics born in Matanzas such as the Rumba, the Danzón, the Guaguanco, the Mambo genesis of the musical heritage of Cuba. 


This museum will have a vocation which will go beyond the artistic gratitude: indeed, he will allow to highlight Matanzas and to develop his economy: the city of Matanzas is indisputably the Cuban city the closest to France whether it is culturally or historically, but this reality is still too much underestimated. We have to all awaken our consciousnesses in this reality.

The Foundation met numerous artistic actors: talents in herbs and confirmed. We also exchanged with the high institutions of the island.

The Lorenzo Padilla foundation be anxious to thank his donors and his partners who allowed to bring to a successful conclusion this mission. We are also anxious to thank Cuba and more particularly the children of the school who reserved us a great welcome (besides their welcome he again demonstrated the utility of the missions of the foundation). 


We shall return in held to pursue our missions of help.


During year 2017, personal exhibitions and sales of the works of the Cuban painter Lorenzo Padilla will be realized for the benefit of the Foundation. Numerous actions will be led to pursue the harvest of funds.

0Y5W5138_mini.jpg

Make a Donation


scroll down to make a donation

SCROLL DOWN

Make a Donation


scroll down to make a donation

CLICK HERE TO MAKE A DONATION

Thanks to your contribution, you will help advance our goal of providing everyone with access to art and culture.

The primary purpose of the Foundation is to help Cuban artists and painters to  participate in safeguarding the pictorial heritage of Cuba. The funds will also go toward organizing exhibitions around the world, mainly in remote areas, to bring art to everyone. Finally, a scholarship will be created to provide the poorest children access to major international schools of art and culture.

0Y5W4898_mini.jpg

Glossary & Tax Exemption


SCROLL DOWN

Glossary & Tax Exemption


Glossary & Tax Exemption

Income tax: Reduction for donations to charitable bodies.

Payments in the form of grants or contributions FDD Lorenzo may give rise to a tax reduction on income.

Your gift can be one of the following forms:

  • Payment of money,
  • Gift in kind (a work of art, for example)
  • Payment of contributions
  • Abandonment of revenue or products (copyright abandonment, for example)
  • Costs incurred in connection with a voluntary activity.
  • Unspecified gift

To benefit from the tax reduction, your payment, whatever the form, must be done without direct or indirect consideration for your benefit. This means that you should not get benefits in exchange for your payment.

Matching benefits for contributions

When you contribute to an association, institutional and symbolic benefits that you get are not considered as real counterparts. For example, the right to vote at the general meeting.

It is the same of the various documents you receive (newsletters, etc.).

By contrast, if you receive minor property (greeting cards, badges, etc.), the value of such consideration shall not exceed one quarter of the amount of the donation, with a maximum of €65 per year.

When the amount of donations exceeds the limit of 20% of taxable income, the excess is carried over the following five years and is eligible for the tax reduction under the same conditions.

Where new payments following years, deferred surplus qualify for the tax reduction before the payments of the year. The oldest surpluses are retained in priority.

Declaration

To complete your tax return, you can consult the information folder and the brochure practice of income tax.

You must keep receipts for the tax authorities may request.

0Y5W5077_mini.jpg

Partnership


SCROLL DOWN
0Y5W5336_mini.jpg

Contact


SCROLL DOWN

Contact


Name *
Name

IMG_0706.JPG
0Y5W5210_mini.jpg
0Y5W5243.jpg
0Y5W5190.jpg
0Y5W5180_mini (1).jpg
0Y5W5138.jpg
0Y5W4898.jpg
0Y5W5077.jpg
0Y5W5336_mini_cropped.jpg
IMG_0706.JPG

Fondation Lorenzo Padilla


SCROLL DOWN

Fondation Lorenzo Padilla


CLIQUEZ ICI POUR FAIRE UN DON

« L’homme qui fait de l’art ne fait pas la guerre »

Je suis né en 1931 à Matanzas, Cuba, au sein d’une famille humble et aimante. Tout petit je voulais être musicien car je voulais suivre les traces de mon père. Malgré tout, j’étais passionné par le dessin : je m’amusais à illustrer les livres d’école de mes cousines. Mon oncle Carlos, gardait tous mes dessins, et, lorsque j’ai eu 10 ans, Carlos est allé montrer mes petits travaux au professeur Alberto Tarasco. Ce dernier a adoré mon travail et a proposé à mon oncle Carlos de me donner des cours dans son Académie. Alberto Tarasco m’a initialement procuré une bourse d’un an. Mais je suis finalement restée dans l’Académie jusqu’à mes 16 ans. 

Mon professeur voulait que je rentre aux Beaux Arts, mais mes parents ne souhaitaient pas que je m’engage dans la voie de la peinture. Ils voulaient que je devienne avocat. Après de nombreuses discussions et insistances, mes parents ont finalement accepté que je rentre au Beaux Arts dans la mesure où j’en ressortais diplômé. J’ai donc obtenu le diplôme de professeur de peinture. 

Je ne remercierais jamais assez mon oncle qui a tant œuvré pour me faire découvrir ma vocation. Je dessinais sans cesse, tout ce que je voyais. Je me passionnais pour les grands peintres qui m’étaient ou non contemporains : Wifredo Lam, Ponce de Leon, Carlos Enriquez…

Plus tard, j’ai eu la grande chance de rencontrer Wifredo Lam à Paris, grace à mon épouse, Gracia, car son père, le célèbre archéologue et poète, Robert Ganzo, était un grand ami du Maître.

En ce temps là, nous étions à Montparnasse : nous fréquentions  « LA COUPOLE» et étions proche du grand Cardenas. Nous nous retrouvions » avec Von Dongen, Zadkine, Foujita et sa femme Fernande Barrey, ...

 

Pourquoi avoir créer un Musée d’Arts à Matanzas ?

Lorsque j’étais étudiant, je devais me rendre à La Havane pour contempler des œuvres originales car il n’y avait pas de musée à Matanzas. 

J’ai donc décidé que si un jour je le pourrais, je créerais un musée dans ma ville natale. Ce jour est arrivé. J’ai donc pu doter Matanzas d’un musée d’art. Je l’ai alimenté avec mes propres créations, et mes collections personnelles comme par exemple 800 gravures originales dont quelques Rembrandt et les cadeaux qui m’avaient été faits par tous mes amis peintres rencontrés tout au long de ma vie. Par ailleurs, fidèle à mes origines, j’ai aussi alimenté le musée avec des œuvres originales d’art africain car je suis très sensible à la culture afro-cubaine.

Matanzas, c’est ma ville natale. Elle est belle et toute bleue. La baie de Matanzas est aussi grande que la baie de Santiago de Cuba. Quelques  grands rythmes cubains sont nés à Matanzas : le Danzon, le Guaguanco, le Mambo aussi… Mon rêve pour le musée, ce serait d’acquérir une très grande œuvre reconnue internationalement pour que l’on vienne l’admirer et par la même occasion admirer les travaux de maîtres oubliés ou inconnus. 

Je souhaite que le Musée de Matanzas devienne le plus grand Musée au monde dédiés à tous les artistes inconnus ou oubliés de la planète et qu’il mette en avant la culture musicale de Matanzas, La Rumba , Le Mambo, Le Danzon , Le Guaguanco, etc.

 

Pourquoi maintenant une Fondation ?

Je vais mourir avec un pinceau à la main ; mais en attendant mon vœu le plus cher est d’aider tous les artistes démunis à développer leur art. Petit, j’ai souffert du manque … Alors, je me suis juré d’aider les artistes les plus démunis, principalement à Cuba, en France et à l’international.

L’art est nécessaire dans le monde. L’homme qui fait de l’art ou qui s’y intéresse ne fait pas la guerre. Je suis pour la beauté du monde. Je veux que la guerre cesse. Aimer, ne pas porter rancune. La peinture et l’art sont faits pour les autres. L’art permet de respirer et de rapprocher les peuples. Je n’ai pas eu la chance de me lancer avec l’aide de quelqu’un alors je veux donner cette chance aux autres.

Après la révolution cubaine, j’ai eu une bourse de cette même révolution. J’étais révolutionnaire de la première heure. Je suis et je serai toujours un révolutionnaire – par le pinceau, je veux aider mon pays : c’est mon arme. 

Je veux aussi que Cuba devienne une référence artistique en termes de peinture. Je veux mettre l’art à la portée de tous, aller présenter des expositions dans les coins les plus retirés de la planète : l’art, c’est pour tout le monde.

Mon petit-fils, David Padilla, Co fondateur de la fondation Lorenzo Padilla et son épouse, Marie Padilla, m’aident dans cette quête. Ils sont très engagés. Tout comme mon frère Pedro Padilla. Je veux leur dédier la force de la fondation, ainsi qu’à Gracia, ma défunte épouse, mon inspiratrice : elle me manque tant mais elle est toujours dans mon cœur.

 

Quelles sont mes plus grandes références ?

Le plus grand pour moi est Diego Velasquez ; c’est le précurseur de l’Impressionnisme, il a les touches de la liberté. Mais il y a aussi Goya, Greco, Turner, Monnet. Mon rêve serait d’être dans la lignée de ces grands artistes. Je dis cela sans prétention. Je n’imite personne, je m’inspire. J’espère qu’un jour on parlera de moi comme étant un grand peintre mais surtout comme étant un grand bienfaiteur.

 

Lorenzo Padilla

 

0Y5W5210_mini.jpg

Actualité


SCROLL DOWN

Actualité


0Y5W5243.jpg

Mission & Objectif


SCROLL DOWN

Mission & Objectif


Mission et objectif

La fondation Lorenzo Padilla a  pour vocation de venir en aide aux artistes peintres cubains et de participer à la sauvegarde du patrimoine picturale de Cuba. De plus, grâce aux fonds collectés, la fondation organisera des expositions à travers le monde, principalement dans les lieux les plus reculés de la planète, afin de mettre l’art à la portée de tous. 

Une bourse d’étude sera créée pour permettre aux jeunes peintres talentueux d’accéder aux grandes écoles d’art internationales, à la culture et à la reconnaissance par l’art. Mais à ce jour, la récolte de fonds sera dans un premier temps, destinée à acheter du matériel (peintures, toiles, et toutes autres fournitures), afin d’aider les artistes et les écoles d’art les plus démunis à professionnaliser leur art.

0Y5W5190.jpg

Le Conseil d'Adminstration et les Collèges


SCROLL DOWN

Le Conseil d'Adminstration et les Collèges


Conseil d’administration

CO-FONDATEUR  Marie Padilla y Diaz

CO-FONDATEUR  David Padilla y Diaz

CO-FONDATEUR  Lorenzo Padilla

 

COLLÈGE  DU MECENAT

PRÉSIDENTE D'HONNEUR Domitilla Weiller 

 

Collège Consultatif

Membre du Collège consultatif

Représentant du FDD Lorenzo Padilla à Cuba 

Monsieur Pedro Padilla y Diaz

 

PRÉSIDENT D'HONNEUR

Monsieur Jean-Pierre Bel
Envoyé Personnel du président de la République française pour l’Amérique Latine et les Caraïbes, 
et ancien président du sénat français

 

Collège d'honneur

Membres Honorifiques

Madame Barbara Hendricks

Madame Mirna Murillo Gamarra

Monsieur Walter Scandale
Docteur en Sciences Physiques et ancien membre du personnel Supérieur du CERN

Monsieur Erik Gonthier
Docteur et Maître de Conférence du MNHN Département Préhistoire Paris

Madame Fabienne Stimamiglio

Madame Lola Jouyaux

Monsieur Heinrich Defarge

Monsieur Eric Renesson

Madame Haydeline Diaz

 

0Y5W5180_mini (1).jpg

Les Réalisations


SCROLL DOWN

Les Réalisations


LES RÉALISATIONS

En novembre 2016 , La Fondation Lorenzo Padilla s' est rendue à Matanzas, Cuba, afin de faire don de plus d'un an de matériel(peintures, toiles et toutes autres fournitures)  à l'école des Beaux-Arts de la ville afin d'aider les élèves et artistes  en devenir à poursuivre leurs études dans les conditions des plus grandes écoles mondiales. L'opération a été couronnée de succès.

Durant cette visite, la fondation a aussi évalué les besoins du Musée d'Arts de Matanzas en termes de restauration, conservation du patrimoines et création d'un futur grand musée d'arts de Matanzas: 

 

  • il sera toujours doté des collections des donations précédente ( Arts africains , Oeuvres de Lorenzo padilla,  peintures et gravures d'artistes internationaux ). 
  • Dans le musée un espace dédié sera crée à la mémoire des musiques nées à Matanzas telles que la Rumba, le Danzón, le Guaguanco, le Mambo...genèse du patrimoine musical de Cuba. 
  • Ce musée aura une vocation qui ira au delà de la  reconnaissance artistique : En effet, il permettra de mettre en lumière Matanzas et développer son économie : la ville de Matanzas  est indiscutablement la cité cubaine la plus proche de la France que ce soit culturellement ou historiquement , mais cette réalité est encore trop méconnue... Nous devons tous éveiller nos consciences à cette réalité.

 

La Fondation  a rencontré de nombreux acteurs artistiques : talents en herbes et confirmés. 

Nous avons aussi échangé avec les hautes institutions de l'île . 

La Fondation Lorenzo Padilla tiens à remercier ses donateurs et ses partenaires qui ont permis de mener à bien cette mission.

Nous tenons aussi à remercier Cuba et plus particulièrement les enfants de l'école qui nous ont réservé un accueil formidable (en plus de leur accueil il ont à nouveau démontré l'utilité des missions de la fondation). 

Nous retournerons à cuba pour poursuivre nos missions d'aide.

Durant l'année 2017 ,  des expositions personnelles et ventes des œuvres du peintre cubain Lorenzo Padilla seront réalisées au profit de la Fondation. De nombreuses  actions seront menées afin de poursuivre la récolte de fonds. 

0Y5W5138.jpg

Faire un don


scrollez vers le bas pour faire un donation

SCROLL DOWN

Faire un don


scrollez vers le bas pour faire un donation

CLIQUEZ ICI POUR FAIRE UN DON

Grace a votre contribution, vous permettez de faire avancer notre projet de vouloir donner à tous l'accès à l’art et à la culture.

La première vocation de la Fondation est de venir en aide aux artistes peintres cubains et de participer à la sauvegarde du patrimoine picturale de Cuba. Dans un second temps, grâce aux fonds collectés, la fondation organisera des expositions à travers le monde, principalement dans les lieux les plus reculés de la planète, afin de mettre l’art à la portée de tous. Enfin, une bourse d’étude sera créée pour permettre aux enfants les plus démunis d’accéder aux grandes écoles d’art internationales, à la culture et à la reconnaissance par l’art.

0Y5W4898.jpg

Glossaire et défiscalisation


SCROLL DOWN

Glossaire et défiscalisation


GLOSSAIRE - DEFISCALISATION

 

Impôt sur le revenu : réduction pour dons à des organismes d'intérêt général.

Des versements sous forme de dons ou de cotisations au FDD Lorenzo peuvent donner lieu à une réduction d'impôt sur le revenu.

Votre don peut prendre l'une des formes suivantes :

Versement de sommes d'argent,

Don en nature (une œuvre d'art par exemple),

Versement de cotisations,

Abandon de revenus ou de produits (abandon de droits d'auteur par exemple),

Frais engagés dans le cadre d'une activité bénévole.

Don sans contrepartie

Pour bénéficier de la réduction d'impôt, votre versement, quelle qu'en soit la forme, doit être fait sans contrepartie directe ou indirecte à votre profit. Cela signifie que vous ne devez pas obtenir d'avantages en échange de votre versement.

 

Notion de contrepartie pour les cotisations

Lorsque vous versez des cotisations à une association, les avantages institutionnels et symboliques que vous obtenez ne sont pas considérés comme de réelles contreparties. Par exemple, le droit de vote à l'assemblée générale.

Il en est de même des divers documents que vous recevez (bulletins d'information, etc.).

Par contre, si vous recevez des biens de faible importance (cartes de vœux, insignes, etc.), la valeur de ces contreparties ne doit pas dépasser un quart du montant du don, avec un maximum de 65 € par an.

Lorsque le montant des dons dépasse la limite de 20 % du revenu imposable, l'excédent est reporté sur les 5 années suivantes et ouvre droit à la réduction d'impôt dans les mêmes conditions.

En cas de nouveaux versements au titre des années suivantes, les excédents reportés ouvrent droit à la réduction d'impôt avant les versements de l'année. Les excédents les plus anciens sont retenus en priorité.

 

Déclaration

Pour remplir votre déclaration de revenus , vous pouvez consulter la notice explicative ainsi que la brochure pratique de l'impôt sur le revenu. 

Vous devez conserver les reçus car l'administration fiscale peut les demander.

0Y5W5077.jpg

Partenaires


SCROLL DOWN

Partenaires


0Y5W5336_mini_cropped.jpg

CONTACT


SCROLL DOWN

CONTACT


CONTACT

Nom *
Nom